Published On: Mon, Oct 16th, 2017

Sanjith and Jyothi Gawate have been crowned champions at Shriram Properties Bengaluru Marathon 2017

Share This

The marathon saw a huge turnout of about 14,000 runners compete at the event

Bangalore, October 15, 2017: The curtains came down on the much awaited marathon of Bengaluru – the fourth edition of Shriram Properties Bengaluru Marathon, which concluded today amongst much fanfare and enthusiasm. The full marathon event was flagged off by U. Vimal Kumar, Chief National Coach of India and former badminton player. The half marathon event was flagged off by Ms. Malini Krishnamoorthy, Additional Commissioner of Police (Law and Order), Mr Abhishek Goyal, Additional Commissioner – Traffic along with Mr. Murali, Managing Director of Shriram Properties. During the wee hours of the morning which saw the city’s running and fitness enthusiasts push themselves and compete at the three different categories of the run – the full marathon of 42.195 km, the half marathon of 21.1 km and the 5km Hope Run. The total prize money was Rs. 30 Lakhs.

There were over 14,000 runners who participated at the marathon, that included the who’s who of Bengaluru, also including a group of visually impaired kids from Samarthanam Trust for Disabled, physically challenged people from Mathru Fountation and children from Parikrama Foundation ran the 5Km Hope Run. The Hope Run had been introduced with a vision of popularizing running within the community, where the spectators came in large numbers to cheer the participants.

The List of Winners:

Full marathon (Elite Male):

Race Ranking Name Winning Time
1 Sanjith 02:24:56
2 Karan Singh 02:28:22
3 Patle Gajilal 02:32:17

Full marathon (Elite Female):

Race Ranking Name Winning Time
1 Jyothi Gawate 03:07:54
2 Jyothi Singh 03:40:12
3 Ranjana 03:51:17

Half marathon (Elite Male):

Race Ranking Name Winning Time
1 Durga Bahedur 01:09:01
2 Nitendra Singh Rawat 01:09:01
3 Albin Sunny 01:10:32

Half marathon (Elite Female):

Race Ranking Name Winning Time
1 Preenu Yadav 01:27:30
2 Jhamu Khatun 01:27:30
3 Anita Choudhury 01:29:00

Speaking on the occasion, Mr. M Murali, Managing Director, Shriram Properties said, “It was exhilarating to see the citizens of Bengaluru come out and participate in such large numbers today. As Bengaluru’s leading real estate company, we are not only committed to delivering lifestyle spaces but also committed to influencing the life style of people where fitness plays an important role and pledge to make Bengaluru a healthy city.

Thanking Bengalureans for their whole hearted acceptance of Shriram Properties, Mr. Murali added, “In our 22 years of journey in this city, we have successfully completed 12 projects and have over 16,000 happy families as customers. With top PE funds supporting us in this journey, we are now all set to expand aggressively in Bengaluru and Chennai. In Quarter1 of this fiscal, we were amongst the top 3 developers on Sales in Bengaluru. We hope to retain that position in Quarter 2 as well. In Chennai we are aiming to be amongst the top 3 players by end of FY 17-18 with 3 to 4 big launches in the pipeline. We will make some key acquisition announcements in the next couple of months.”

Mr. Nagaraj Adiga, Race Director, Shriram Properties Bengaluru Marathon said, “We are delighted that in just 4 years, SPBM has become the 2nd largest Running Event in India under Marathon category. It is remarkable to see such enthusiastic participation year after year, and we look forward to making this event even bigger in the coming editions.”

Arjuna Awardee Reeth Abraham who is the brand ambassador of the event said, “Running has become a part of the urban lifestyle and events like this just make it a community activity.  SPBM is indeed the pride of Bengaluru and I sincerely hope more and more citizens will come forward to cheer the runners in the coming years.”

Newly elected BBMP Mayor Mr. Sampath Raj, who presided the awards ceremony lauded the enthusiasm and spirit of Bengalureans and congratulated the winners. He spoke of the unifying strength of sports. He motivated all the athletes to strive and bring greater glory to the nation at international sports meets.

About the Author


Powered By Indic IME