Published On: Sun, Dec 16th, 2018

110 cyclists pedal 950+ kms to finish epic tour of TfN 2018 at Mysuru

Share This

Mysuru, December 16, 2018: The 11th edition of Tour of Nilgiris (TfN), the annual tour of RideACycle Foundation (RAC-F), successfully concluded at Mysuru this evening with cyclists pedaling 133 kms from Kalpetta through Pullpally, Payampally and H D Kote. The epic tour with a contingent of 110 cyclists had pedaled 950+ kms around the pristine Nilgiris Biosphere Reserve across Western Ghats, winding through Karnataka, Kerala and Tamilnadu.

Highlight of TfN 2018 was the participation of record overseas and women riders – 29 and 18 respectively. Also the 11th edition saw the introduction of an absolutely new route between Hassan to Kushalnagar that was full of rolling terrain and places that had not been pedaled before in TfN’s history. ­ ­­­Another highlight which is a major feature that draw cyclists to pedal TfN is the Kalhatty climb. The climb to Kalhatty is considered a ‘Hors categorie’; something that is beyond categorization – in simple French cycling terms, one of the toughest climbs possible! The Kalhatty climb gains 1200 mts of elevation in about 12 kms giving an average elevation gain of around 10 % with a few stretches going up to 15 % or more of gradient.

According to Satish Belawadi, Tour Director, TfN 2018, “The Tour of Nilgiris is now reckoned as the toughest and biggest Indian cycling tour that pushes barriers, tests endurance and creates newer opportunities for cycling talent along the most scenic routes.” Cyclists from across the globe have shown great interest in TfN and it is no surprise the event is getting bigger with every passing year, he added.

Commenting on the epic tour Badrinath V Sastry, Assistant Tour Director, TfN 2018, said, “We strive to offer newer challenges every year to make the event competitive and attract the best of the cycling talent be it globally or domestically”. Further, he pointed out, the routes are carefully chosen keeping in mind the safety of cyclists as well as adding an element of surprise for those who participate in the tour repeatedly.

“With TfN 2018 concluding, there is already great enthusiasm among cyclists to know the route for TfN 2019, the 12th edition”, said Deepak Majipatil, Co-Founder, RAC-F. The core team of RAC-F will meet in the next 2 months for chalking out the program for the next edition. The entry for TfN 2019 will open on May 1, 2019 and we are confident it will continue to attract the best of cycling talent from across the world, he added.

The winners in the Men’s, Women’s, Master’s (between 35 – 45 years) and Veteran’s (above 45 years) category were Naveen John (India), Katja-Lill Jensen (Denmark), Kris Guns (Belgium) and Paul Stuart Wright (Great Britain) respectively. Kiran Kumar Raju was given the King of Kalhatti title for climbing it in a record time of 01:07:36 and Katja-Lill Jansen (Denmark) was given the Queen of Kalhatti title for climbing it in 01:26:35.


The top three riders in the competitive section across categories are as follows:


Naveen John   (India) – 1:06:45

Nils Eigil Bradtberg (Denmark) – 1:07:23

Clinton lan Leong (Australia)   – 1:09:48


Katja-Lill Jensen (Denmark)      – 1:20:30

Lena Mareike Josefine Robra (Germany) – 1:23:07

Cora Van Laer  (Belgium)        – 1:23:46

Masters (Between 35 and 45 years of age):

Kris Guns (Belgium)   – 1:10:11

Peter Roper (USA)     – 1:11:37

Hemendra Upadhyay (India) – 1:18:53

Veterans (Over 45 years of age):

Paul Stuart Wright (Great Britain) – 1:14:30

Reid Hamilton (Canada)              - 1:19:11

Caspar  Andreis (Denmark)         - 1:21:35

About the Author


Powered By Indic IME