Published On: Sat, Aug 3rd, 2019

First-ever Women’s Cricket T-20 League from August 4-8, 2019

Share This

3 national players part of an initiative aimed at promoting women’s cricket

BENGALURU, August 2, 2019 : A new era in women’s cricket is being heralded in Karnataka with the first-ever Women’s Cricket T-20 League (WCL) planned between 4th August – 8th August, 2019, featuring four different teams in which four national players are participating.

Approved by the Karnataka State Cricket Academy, the T-20 tournament is being organised by Ocean Vibrance, a Bengaluru-based event management company, in association with professional women cricketers. All the four teams will play a Round-robin format with white balls two matches per day at the turf ground Samprasiddhi Sports Estadio, near Reva University in Bengaluru.

Commenting on the need for the women’s T-20 league, Sunanda Jaiprakash, Founder & Managing Director, Ocean Vibrance, said, “Women’s cricket is currently witnessing a phenomenal change with many initiatives aimed at improvising the visibility for the game and women cricketing talent.  We are of the view that there must to be more platforms to promote women’s cricket in India. There is a lot more for us to achieve at the international level compared to other countries, and therefore initiatives like these are important.”

The league will be an extravagant tournament with teams picking state/country level players from various parts of Karnataka.Players viz., Veda Krishnamurthy, Akanksha Kohli, Rajeshwari Gyakwad, Rakshita K, Divya Gnananand and many more cricket players.  The 4 teams, part of the inaugural WCL, are Narmada, Sindhu, Kaveri and Yamuna, competing round robin format.

With lesser opportunities to showcase their talent, many girls, despite the passion towards this sport, are forced to choose some other career path at some point in time owing to many compulsions. The aim is to empower such women cricketers by creating platforms like this and create equal opportunities in the cricket arena.

“We are creating an inclusive sporting environment where women cricket players feel valued and are able to contribute to their full potential, elevating the spirit of the game notch higher. Ocean Vibrance is dedicated to promoting women’s cricket,” Sunanda added.

While men’s T-20 cricket has gained popularity, Ocean Vibrance intends to deliver the same impact on women’s cricket.

With over 20+ years of industry experience, Ocean Vibrance is backed by a dedicated core team of industry professionals. The team is tuned to the latest developments in the industry and has the insight to conceptualise, design produce, promote and execute complete logistics for any activity.

For more information contact us on +91 9611801444,

Names of the Guests and Players seen in the Pictures below:

From Left to Right

1. Lakshmi Hariharan – Former Cricket, Coach Karnataka Women’s Cricket Team,

2. Sunanda Jaiprakash - Founder and Managing Director, Ocean Vibrance.

3. Mamata Meban – Former Cricket, India Captain – Coach of Karnataka Women’s

Cricket Team,

4. Rakshitha K – Player

5. Vrinda Dinesh – Player

6. Divya Gnanananda – Player

7. Adithi Mana - Player

8. Santosh Menon - Asst Secretary, KSCA

9. Jaiprakash - MD, JPS Associates


Notes to the Editor

Match Fixtures


-      Team Narmada

-      Team Sindhu

-      Team Kaveri

-      Team Yamuna

August 4, Sunday

9:30 am – Team Narmada vs Team Yamuna

1:30 pm – Team Sindhu vs Team Kaveri


August 5, Monday

9:30 am – Team Narmada vs Team Kaveri

1:30 pm – Team Sindhu vs Team Yamuna


August 6, Tuesday

9:30 am – Team Narmada vs Team Sindhu

1:30 pm – Team Kaveri vs Team Yamuna

Top Two Teams will qualify for the Final on Thursday, the 8th August 2019

Top Team of the Group vs. Second Team of the Group



  • WCL aims to create a permanent platform to promote, encourage and motivate cricket among women fraternity. It will bring women cricketing talent across Karnataka, on a platform which can amplify its true potential and performance to millions of audiences across the country.

  • WCL celebrates the unsung women cricketers of India and acknowledge their contribution to the sports industry by providing them name and fame they deserve on a national level.

  • Efforts to usher in paradigm shift in women’s cricket were visible in 2017 when the Indian women’s cricket team turned everything around in their favour. However, thejourney is far from over and requires multiple channels and platform ofsupport and promotion for women’s cricket, to elevate it to the standards itdeserves to be.

  • WCL is working towards achieving an inclusive sporting environment where women cricket playersfeel valuedand are able to contribute to their full potential, elevatingthe spirit of thegame notch higher.


Brief history of women’s cricket in India

  • The first Women’s cricket match was played in 1934 and it took about 40 years for women’s cricket to start in India.

  • India played their first test match against West Indies in 1976.

  • India reached their first ODI World Cup final in 2005.

  • After a gap of 12 years, India reached the finals of ODI World Cup in 2017 for the second time and created a revelation in women’s cricket which finally got its dues that it served.

  • India reached the semi-finals of the World T20 thrice – 2009, 2010 and 2018.

  • In January 2016, Indian women scripted history by beating the world champions Australia in the ODI’s in their own den.

  • Historic ODI series win against the strong New Zealand on their home grounds in November 2018.

  • For the first time, India has beaten England 2 consecutive years, 2018 & 2019 in the ODIs and won the series handsomely.

  • The current Indian Women’s Cricket Team ranks 3 globally.

  • India have never lost an ODI to Pakistan, Bangladesh, Ireland, Netherlands or Denmark.

About the Author


Powered By Indic IME